La cabane de Jas Lacroix
>>
Home
>
By walk
>
La cabane de Jas Lacroix
Vallouise-Pelvoux

La cabane de Jas Lacroix

Fauna
Flora
Pastoralism
Embed this item to access it offline

An easy, cool walk to the Jas-Lacroix pastoral hut, along the Selle stream.

"In the spring, before the flocks arrive in the valley, it is not rare to see a chamois in front of the hut in the early hours. They come to lick the stones on which the shepherd has put salt for the sheep during the summer."

Blandine Delanette, Warden for the Vallouise area.


12 points of interest

  • Flora

    Silver birch

    On the edge of the Onde, once you have crossed the footbridge, the stone footpath weaves its way between the birch trees. This tree is easy to recognize amongst all the others due to it thin white bark. Due to the tar that it contains, birch bark stays intact even after the wood has rotted inside. It was used as parchment and as tannin in boreal regions. In this area, the birch's young twigs were mostly used to make brooms.
  • Fauna

    Southerly burnet

    These small moths that come out during the day, are part of thirty species of burnet in France. Their long wings are black or sometimes bluish and have red spots. Such bright colours are a warning of toxicity to their predators. Burnets are capable of extracting chemical components similar to cyanide from plants. They then secrete this poison through their mouth and joints when faced with danger
  • Flora

    Chamois ragwort

    In June it impossible not to see these large yellow sun-like flowers on the edge of the path. Their greyish, fleshy leaves look like they have grown through a spider's web. At the end of July they are unrecognisable: the leaves turn green and no longer have the grey fluff. Once the flowers have wilted, they give way to a fluffy white seed head that is easily scattered by the wind. Our elders used to compare them to an old man's hair (senex in Latin) which lead to the French name "séneçon".
  • Flora

    Cypress spurge

    This is also referred to as "milk herb" in relation to the sticky white liquid that flows when it is cut. This is a toxic, irritating latex. It is identifiable due to its thin soft leaves and its original flowers that change colour and group together in inflorescence. By looking closer, in the middle of a 'cup' made from two bracts, it is possible to distinguish a female flower which is reduced to a ball (ovary) on a long stem, and males flowers with a sole stamen and four crescent-shaped nectar glands.
  • Fauna

    "Popeye" grasshopper

    In the pastures, in August, tens of grasshoppers jump and then disappear into the grass with each of our footsteps. Amongst them, the most original is perhaps the gomphocerus sibiricus nicknamed Siberian grasshopper, due to its resistance to the cold. The male is also known as the "Popeye grasshopper" because of its 'muscled' front legs. Its green-brown colour might mean it would go unnoticed were it not for this anatomical detail and it long, consistent "cre-cre-cre-cre" ending with a couple of separate "cre" that it repeats in order to attract a female.
  • Flora

    Green alder

    This bushy shrub grows in entangled thickets, which are a refuge to birds and chamois that are in search of coolness and quiet. It is a pioneer and not afraid of settling in poor, steep terrains. Its strong roots mean it can latch on where everything else slides. Its flexibility means avalanches slide over it as it bends under the weight of the snow. The male catkins dangle when they are mature showing the pale yellow of their flowers. The female flowers will bear characteristic fruit like small pinecones that are first green, and then brown that persist all year round.
  • Fauna

    Black redstart

    The black redstart has a grey crown, a white patch on its wings and a tan tail and rump. A lively and active common bird, it likes the rocky environments and constantly hunts insects in flight or on the ground. Perched on a rock or a stone wall, it gives out brief cries of warning whilst folding it feet. Its chatty song interrupted by "paper rustling" is characteristic. This partly migratory bird can be seen at high altitude during the summer but heads to the lower valleys for the winter.
  • Fauna

    Chamois

    In the summer, it is at the coolest times of the day that you are likely to see a chamois busy grazing. When the sun heats the valley, they prefer to lie in the shade of the green alders, or otherwise stay on the névés. Their hearing and their sense of smell are highly developped and makes it difficult to approach them. You will need binoculars to see them. If the end of their horns are curved, it's a male, a buck. Open horns, it's a female, a doe. If the horns are shorter than the ears, it's an 'éterlou', a young male chamois in its second year. Barely visible horns, it's a kid.
  • Pastoralism

    Pastoral activity in the Selle valley, dale

    Between l’Aup Martin pass and Entre les Aygues, the Selle valley is the communal pasture for Vallouise. During the summer, the pasture is grazed by a flock of sheep, a herd of cows, a few horses and the donkeys that accompany the shepherds. The shepherd's role is to not only keep and guide the sheep on the pasture with the help of dogs. She also nurses them, in particular to avoid foot-rot, a bacterial infection of the hooves that could spread to wild animals.
  • Flora

    Monk's Rhubarb

    Around the pastoral hut, monk's rhubarb forms an ocean of bright green. This species along with Good King Henry and stinging nettles have a love for ample manure. They therefore create vast fluffy carpets on the animals' resting places and around the pastoral huts where they stifle out most of the other vegetation due to its vigorous germination and the damp shade of its large leaves. On its stem, the flower heads that look like candles are made up of uncountable greenish flowers that, when mature, will become winged, three-sided brown fruit. The leaf petioles of this wild rhubarb, which are fleshy, juicy and tangy, can be used in cooking.
  • Fauna

    The ibex, a survivor

    In the face of danger, the ibex does not run away but takes refuge on a rock face where it thinks it will be safe. This strategy has enabled it to escape from land predators for thousands of years. However, it has proved to be inefficient against man since the invention of the crossbow or the rifle. As a result, the ibex was almost wiped out in the 19th century. The species owes it survival to Italy's protection in the creation of a royal reserve, that later became the Gran Paradiso National Park.
  • Fauna

    The alpine ibex

    In 1995 several ibex were introduced into the Champsaur. Since then, their population has steadily progressed to the valleys of the massif. A small group of ibex spend the summer season on the cliffs of the Chanteloube valley that overlooks the Jas Lacroix hut, on the left bank. They are more often than not perched on the rock faces and are difficult to see but from the hilltop above the hut, you might be lucky enough to see one on the rocks with the help of a telescope.

Description

Take the footpath to left at the end of the carpark.

  1. At the first crossing, take the footpath on the left (GR54) towards "Col de l'Aup Martin" cross the bridge over the Onde stream. Follow the cairns in the riverbed of the Onde to join the footpath that follows the Selle stream. This will take you to the pastoral hut next to a shelter for walkers of the GR54 trail (Tour of l'Oisans and Les Ecrins).
  2. The return trip will be by the same path. It is also possible to continue towards l’Aup Martin pass, which is the highest point of the GR54 trail at 2761 m in altitude.
  • Departure : Entre les Aygues, Vallouise
  • Towns crossed : Vallouise-Pelvoux

Forecast


Altimetric profile


Sensitive areas

Along your trek, you will go through sensitive areas related to the presence of a specific species or environment. In these areas, an appropriate behaviour allows to contribute to their preservation. For detailed information, specific forms are accessible for each area.

Golden eagle

Impacted practices:
Aerial, , Vertical
Sensitivity periods:
JanFebMarAprMayJunJulAug
Contact:
Parc National des Écrins
Julien Charron
julien.charron@ecrins-parcnational.fr

Recommandations

The road leading to the car park is closed in winter and opens earlier or later in in the spring depending on avalanche activity. Please do not disturb the work of the shepherd and respect her privacy at the pastoral hut.

Herd protection dogs

In mountain pastures, protection dogs are there to protect the herds from predators (wolves, etc.).

When I hike I adapt my behavior by going around the herd and pausing for the dog to identify me.

Find out more about the actions to adopt with the article "Protection dogs: a context and actions to adopt".
Tell us about your meeting by answering this survey.
Is in the midst of the park
The national park is an unrestricted natural area but subjected to regulations which must be known by all visitors.


Information desks

Vallouise Park house

, 05290 Vallouise

http://www.ecrins-parcnational.fr/vallouise@ecrins-parcnational.fr04 92 23 58 08

Information, documentation, models, exhibitions, screenings, product sales and works of the Park. Guided tours for school, reservation required. The new Park House opened in Vallouise since June 1, and offers visitors an interactive permanent exhibition inviting to explore the area and its heritage. A temporary exhibition space will allow a renewed offer. Finally, the device is completed by an audiovisual room to organize screenings and conferences Free admission. All animations of the Park are free unless otherwise stated.

Find out more

Transport

Shuttle service from Vallouise to Entre les Aygues: Reservation necessary 36 hours in advance (04 92 50 25 05)


Access and parking

In Vallouise, take the small road to the right of the church towards Puy Aillaud. When you reach Villard de Vallouise, carry straight on, on the road that goes through the hamlet and continues into the Onde valley.

Parking :

Entre les Aygues car park at the end of the Onde valley.

More information


Source

Parc national des Ecrinshttps://www.ecrins-parcnational.fr

Report a problem or an error

If you have found an error on this page or if you have noticed any problems during your hike, please report them to us here:

La cabane de Jas Lacroix
>>
Accueil
>
A pied
>
La cabane de Jas Lacroix
Vallouise-Pelvoux

La cabane de Jas Lacroix

Faune
Flore
Pastoralisme
Embarquer cet élément afin d'y avoir accès hors connexion

Une randonnée facile vers la cabane pastorale de Jas-Lacroix, dans la fraîcheur du torrent de la Selle.

« Au printemps, avant l'arrivée des troupeaux dans le vallon, il n'est pas rare d'observer au petit matin les chamois devant la cabane pastorale. Ils viennent lécher les pierres sur lesquelles le berger dépose le sel pour les brebis durant l'été. »

Blandine Delenatte, garde-monitrice en Vallouise


Les 12 patrimoines à découvrir
Flore

Bouleau verruqueux

Au bord de l'Onde, dès qu'on a passé la passerelle, le sentier de galets se faufile entre les bouleaux. Cet arbre est reconnaissable entre tous avec sa fine écorce blanche. En raison des goudrons qu'elle contient, l'écorce du bouleau reste intacte même quand le bois est pourri depuis longtemps. Elle a été utilisée comme parchemin et comme tanin dans les régions boréales. Chez nous, le bouleau était surtout utilisé pour confectionner des balais avec les jeunes rameaux.

lire la suite
Faune

Zygène transalpine

Elle fait partie de la trentaine d’espèces de zygènes de France, ces petits papillons de nuit qui volent le jour et, dont les ailes allongées sont tachées de rouge sur un fond noir parfois bleuté. Ces couleurs vives annoncent leur toxicité aux éventuels prédateurs. Capable de soutirer de leurs plantes hôtes des composés chimiques proches du cyanure, les zygènes sécrètent ce poison par la bouche et les articulations dès qu’elles se sentent en danger.

lire la suite
Flore

Séneçon doronic

Au mois de juin, il ne passe pas inaperçu avec ses grandes fleurs jaunes telles des soleils au bord du chemin. Ses feuilles charnues, grisâtres, semblent avoir poussé au travers d'une toile d'araignée. Fin juillet, le séneçon doronic est méconnaissable : ses feuilles sont devenues vertes, débarrassées de leur peluche grise. Quant à ses fleurs, fanées, elles ont cédé la place à desakènes (« graines ») munis d'une aigrette blanche qui permet leur dissémination par le vent. Les anciens les comparaient à la chevelure d'un vieillard (senex en latin), ce qui a donné son nom de séneçon.

lire la suite
Flore

Euphorbe faux cyprès

On l'appelle aussi « herbe à lait » à cause du liquide blanc et collant qui s'échappe de ses blessures, un latex toxique et irritant. On la reconnaît à ses feuilles étroites et molles et à ses fleurs originales, aux couleurs changeantes, regroupées en inflorescence. En y regardant de plus près, on distingue, au cœur d'une sorte de « coupe » composée de deux bractées, une fleur femelle réduite à une boule (l'ovaire) portée par un long pied, ainsi que des fleurs mâles chacune réduite à une étamine et quatre glandes à nectar en forme de croissant.

lire la suite
Faune

Criquet « Popeye »

Dans l’alpage, au mois d'août, des dizaines de criquets sautent puis se fondent dans l'herbe à chacun de nos pas. Parmi eux, le plus original est sans doute le gomphocère des alpages surnommé « criquet de Sibérie » car il a une grande résistance au froid. Le mâle porte aussi le surnom de « criquet Popeye » car ses tibias antérieurs sont dilatés comme des ampoules. Sans ce détail anatomique et sans le long et uniforme « crè-crè-crè-crè » terminé par quelques « crè » isolés qu'il répète pour attirer une femelle, il pourrait passer inaperçu avec sa couleur oscillant entre le vert et le brun.

lire la suite
Flore

Aulne vert

L'arbuste buissonnant forme d'inextricables fourrés, refuges pour les oiseaux et les chamois qui viennent y chercher fraîcheur et tranquillité. C'est un pionnier qui n'a pas peur de s'implanter dans les terrains raides et pauvres. Ses puissantes racines lui permettent de s'accrocher là où tout glisse. Sa souplesse lui permet de courber sous le poids de la neige, permettant aux avalanches de glisser sur lui. Ses chatons mâles pendent à maturité, exposant le jaune pâle de leurs fleurs. Les chatons femelles, donneront des fruits caractéristiques, sortes de petites pommes de pin d'abord vertes puis brunes, persistant toute l'année.

lire la suite
Faune

Rougequeue noir

Monsieur Rougequeue noir arbore une calotte grise et une tache blanche sur les ailes, une queue et un croupion roux. Oiseau commun vif et actif, il aime les ambiances rocheuses et chasse sans cesse les insectes en vol ou au sol. Il lance de brefs cris d'alarme en ployant ses pattes, perché sur un rocher ou un mur de pierres. Son chant bavard ponctué de « froissements de papier » est caractéristique. Migrateur partiel, il s'observe en altitude pendant l'été mais descend dans les basses vallées pour passer l'hiver.

lire la suite
Faune

Chamois

L'été, c'est aux heures les plus fraîches de la journée que l'on peut observer les chamois, occupés à brouter. Quand le soleil chauffe le vallon, ils préfèrent se coucher à l'ombre des aulnes verts, à moins qu'ils restent sur les névés. Leur ouïe et leur odorat particulièrement développés rendent leur approche difficile. Mieux vaut avoir des jumelles pour les observer ! Crochets des cornes très recourbés : c'est un mâle, un bouc. Crochets ouverts : c'est une femelle, une chèvre. Les cornes ne dépassent pas les oreilles : c'est un éterlou ou une éterle, jeune dans sa deuxième année. Cornes qui pointent à peine : c'est un chevreau.

lire la suite
Pastoralisme

L'activité pastorale dans le vallon de la Selle

Entre le col de l'Aup Martin et Entre les Aygues, le vallon de la Selle forme l'alpage communal de Vallouise. Pendant l'été, cet alpage est pâturé par un troupeaux de brebis, un troupeau de vaches, quelques chevaux et les ânes qui accompagnent la bergère. Le rôle de cette dernière ne consiste pas seulement à garder et guider les brebis sur l'alpage à l'aide des chiens. Elle les soigne aussi, notamment pour prévenir le piétin, une affection bactérienne des sabots qui pourrait se transmettre à la faune sauvage.

lire la suite
Flore

Rhubarbe des moines

Autour de la cabane pastorale, la rhubarbe des moines forme un océan vert vif. Cette espèce partage avec le chénopode Bon-Henri et l'ortie dioïque un goût immodéré pour les fumures abondantes. Elle s'installe donc en vastes tapis touffus sur les reposoirs des troupeaux et autour des cabanes pastorales où elle élimine la plupart des autres végétaux par sa vigueur germinative et l'ombre humide de ses larges feuilles. Sur sa tige, les hampes florales aux allures de cierges sont composées d'innombrables fleurs verdâtres qui deviendront, à maturité, des fruits bruns, ailés et trigones. C'est une rhubarbe sauvage dont on peut cuisiner les pétioles des feuilles, charnus, juteux et acidulés.

lire la suite
Faune

Le bouquetin, une espèce rescapée

Face à un danger, le bouquetin ne s'enfuit pas : il se réfugie dans une paroi rocheuse où il se croit à l'abri. Cette stratégie lui a permis pendant des millénaires d'échapper aux prédateurs  terrestres. Mais elle s'est révélée inefficace face à l'homme après l'invention de l'arbalète et du fusil. Résultat, le bouquetin a failli disparaître au XIXe siècle. L'espèce ne doit sa survie qu'à la protection mise en œuvre par l'Italie en créant une réserve royale dans ce qui allait devenir plus tard le Parc national du Grand Paradis.

lire la suite
Faune

Bouquetin des Alpes

En 1995, quelques bouquetins ont été introduits dans le Champsaur. Depuis, la population s'étoffe lentement et peuple progressivement les vallées du massif. Un petit groupe de bouquetins vient passer la belle saison dans les falaises du vallon de Chanteloube qui surplombe la cabane du Jas Lacroix, en rive gauche. Le plus souvent perchés dans des falaises, ils restent difficilement visibles mais depuis la butte au-dessus de la cabane, avec une longue vue, on peut avoir la chance de les observer dans les rochers.

lire la suite

Description

Prendre le sentier du bout du parking à gauche.

  1. Au premier croisement, prendre le sentier de gauche (GR54) en direction du « col de l'Aup Martin » qui traverse le torrent de l'Onde sur la passerelle. Suivre les cairns dans le lit de l'Onde pour rejoindre le sentier qui suit le torrent de la Selle. Il mène à la cabane pastorale que jouxte un abri pour les randonneurs du GR54 (Tour de l'Oisans et des Écrins).
  2. La descente se fait par le même chemin. Il est aussi possible de continuer vers le col de l'Aup Martin, point culminant du GR54 à 2761 m d'altitude.
Départ : Entre les Aygues, Vallouise
Communes traversées : Vallouise-Pelvoux

Profil altimétrique


Zones de sensibilité environnementale

Le long de votre itinéraire, vous allez traverser des zones de sensibilité liées à la présence d’une espèce ou d’un milieu particulier. Dans ces zones, un comportement adapté permet de contribuer à leur préservation. Pour plus d’informations détaillées, des fiches spécifiques sont accessibles pour chaque zone.
Aigle royal

Nidification de l'Aigle royal

Les pratiques qui peuvent avoir une interaction avec l'Aigle royal en période de nidification sont principalement le vol libre et les pratiques verticales ou en falaise, comme l'escalade ou l'alpinisme. Merci d'éviter cette zone !

Attention en zone cœur du Parc National des Écrins une réglementation spécifique aux sports de nature s’applique : https://www.ecrins-parcnational.fr/thematique/sports-de-nature

Domaines d'activités concernés :
Aerien, Manifestation sportive, Vertical
Périodes de sensibilité :
janv.févr.marsavr.maijuinjuil.août
Contact :
Parc National des Écrins
Julien Charron
julien.charron@ecrins-parcnational.fr

Recommandations

La route qui permet d'accéder au parking est fermée en hiver et peut être ouverte plus ou moins tôt au printemps en fonction des avalanches. Ne pas déranger le travail de la bergère et lui laisser son intimité à la cabane pastorale.

En coeur de parc
Le Parc national est un territoire naturel, ouvert à tous, mais soumis à une réglementation qu’il est nécessaire de connaître pour préparer son séjour.

Les chiens de protection des troupeaux

En alpage, les chiens de protection sont là pour protéger les troupeaux des prédateurs (loups, etc.).

Lorsque je randonne, j’adapte mon comportement en contournant le troupeau et en marquant une pause pour que le chien m’identifie.

En savoir plus sur les gestes à adopter avec le dossier Chiens de protection : un contexte et des gestes à adopter.
En cas de problème, racontez votre rencontre en répondant à cette enquête.

Lieux de renseignement

Maison du Parc de Vallouise

, 05290 Vallouise

http://www.ecrins-parcnational.fr/

vallouise@ecrins-parcnational.fr

04 92 23 58 08

Information, documentation, maquette, expositions, projections, vente des produits et ouvrages du Parc. Visites guidées pour les scolaires, réservation obligatoire. La nouvelle Maison du parc a ouvert à Vallouise depuis le 1er juin et propose aux visiteurs une exposition permanente interactive invitant à la découverte du territoire et de ses patrimoines. Un espace d'exposition temporaire permettra une offre renouvelée. Enfin,le dispositif est complété par une salle audiovisuelle permettant d'organiser projections et conférences Entrée libre. Toutes les animations du Parc sont gratuites sauf mention contraire.

En savoir plus

Transport

Navette de Vallouise à Entre les Aygues : à réserver 36 h à l'avance (04 92 50 25 05).


Accès routiers et parkings

A Vallouise, prendre la petite route à droite devant l'église vers Puy Aillaud. Au Villard de Vallouise, continuer tout droit sur la route qui traverse le hameau et s'enfonce dans la vallée de l'Onde.

Stationnement :

Parking d'Entre les Aygues, tout au fond de la vallée de l'Onde

Source

Parc national des Ecrinshttps://www.ecrins-parcnational.fr

Signaler un problème ou une erreur

Vous avez repéré une erreur sur cette page ou constaté un problème lors de votre randonnée, signalez-les nous ici :