Ecrins trekking

Les Aiguilles de Chabrières

4 h 30
Duration
Medium
Medium
Loop
Loop
11.7 km
Total Length
981 m
Ascent
Uses
  • By walk
Thematic
  • Fauna
  • Geology

A varied walk through forests, cattle and sheep pastures and rock with a beautiful view of the Serre Ponçon lake, Les Oucanes and Les Aiguilles de Chabrières.

This hike has a wonderful belvedere over Réallon and the Gap area. It will be a delight for geology enthusiasts as they go over the Oucanes or come close to the Aiguilles de Chabrières.

From the car park, take the Joubelle forestry track.  After a bend left, follow it for 500 m. Then take a footpath that leads right and climbs rapidly into the forest, it is way tracked with an orange and a blue spot. Cross the Serre du Mouton pastures (caution, the arrows on the signs are not always correct).  After a flat terrain, the route climbs again to an unobstructed hillcrest from where it is possible to see the Serre Ponçon lake. The route follows the crest that leads to the top of the Chabrières chairlift and an observation point. Continue on the visible footpath (which is now ondicated by a blue spot alone) that descends slightly and continues on a ledge to link up to the foot of the corridor before climbing up again to the Chabrières gap. The footpath continues up and across until it reaches the summit that overlooks the Gap basin. From there it is possible to go to the summit of Chabrières, which takes 15 minutes (steep, non-sign-posted route. Not recommended with children) The footpath skirts the Oucanes and continues down towards the Rougnous plateau that it then crosses. It then winds into a valley and joins up with a footpath coming from the Font-Renarde mountain hut that is visible below. Continue on the footpath and link up with the ski slopes that lead to the car park.

Transport

Shuttle possible from the Chorges train station to Réallon. Be sure to reserve 36 hours in advance at 05voyageurs or by calling 04 92 502 505.

Access

Several possible routes: from Chorges via Saint Appolinaire (D9), from Savines-le-Lac via Chérines (D41) and from Embrun by the Route des Puys (D9)

Information desks

Information center "les Gourniers" (summer only)

Les Gourniers
05160 Réallon
Tel : 
embrunais@ecrins-parcnational.fr

Les Gourniers
05160 Réallon

Website - Email - 04 92 44 30 36

Lat: 44.61608, Lng: 6.33363

Maison du Parc de l'Embrunais

Information, documentation, exhibition, screenings, products and books of the Park. Accessible to people with reduced mobility. Free admission. All animations of the Park are free unless otherwise stated.

Place de l’Église
05380 Châteauroux-les-Alpes

Website - Email - 04 92 43 23 31

Lat: 44.61459, Lng: 6.52068

Clic for map interaction

On the way...
Flora
Milk Vetch

The astragalus alopercurus (from alopex: fox and oura; tail) is a spectacular plant due to its size. It has long leaves with many leaflets. It blossoms when the weather gets warmer and shows off a beautiful cluster of flowers at the top of a tall hairy stem. Several yellow corolla grow out through thick protective hair to take in the sunshine and the warm summer winds.

001854_1.jpg
Fauna
Yellow-billed chough

A high flying, mountain top acrobat, the yellow-billed chough is also very talented at gathering leftovers from the walkers' picnics. It usually moves in groups and brightens up its passage with a flute-like sound that is easy to recognise. This black bird has a yellow beak and red feet, and is a much a companion to mountaineers as it is to daydreamers.   

037872_1.jpg
Geology
The Chabrières Oucanes

The Oucanes that can be seen on this walk are strange geological formations that are quite original for the Ecrins massif. The karst that they are made of is thick limestone and dolomite that is part of the Briançon fragment of Chabrières. In a limited space, the Oucanes make it possible to observe the characteristics of alpine karst: limestone pavement, meandering ribs, small rock pools, corridors with ribbed walls and Vaucluse karst springs. 

030021_1.jpg
Fauna
Rock partridge

The rock partridge is a gallinacean, like the ptarmigan, and is easier to observe during the spring courting period. As it stands on a promontory to sing a broken song, the rock partridge is recognisable due to its grey back, white sides and throat, and its red beak. It lives in the sun on the well-exposed slopes of the mountains and likes rocks and open moors. Here its young can feed on the insects necessary for their growth.

028542_1.jpg
Fauna
Chamois

The creation of the National Park has enabled the chamois, emblematic animal of the Alps, to settle again in the Ecrins massif. It has short curved black horns and is a close relative of the antelope. It has a particularly well developed sense of smell and hearing. It is consequently difficult to approach. Females and kids like to group together in herds, whereas the males keep their distance until the mating season in October-November.

021477_1.jpg
Flora
Pasque flower

If all pasque flowers are identifiable by their thick but soft hairiness, unlike anemones, when they reach maturity they also have a characteristic head of scruffy hair, made up of numerous fluffy white seed heads that will get blown away by the wind. In this family, the pasque flower is the most glamorous and most beautiful. It has the advantage of flowering in spring and displays a remarkable purple-black corrola among the grass that has been faded by the winter.

028713_1.jpg

Altitude profile

Altitude (m)

Min : 1554 m - Max : 2349 m

Distance (m)

 

Advice

In June, the late névé can sometimes hide the footpath and the signs. A flock is present on the pastures and "Patou" dogs ensure their protection Avoid passing through the flock.

Rando Ecrins

Les Aiguilles de Chabrières

4 h 30
Durée
Moyen
Moyen
Boucle
Boucle
11,7 km
Longueur totale
981 m
Dénivelé montant
Usages
  • A pied
Thème
  • Faune
  • Géologie

Une randonnée variée à travers bois, alpages bovins et ovins, et rocaille, avec une belle vue sur le lac de Serre-Ponçon, les oucanes et les Aiguilles de Chabrières.

Offrant de beaux belvédères sur le Gapençais et la vallée de Réallon, cette randonnée ravira les passionnés de curiosités géologiques lors de leur passage dans les oucanes et à proximité des Aiguilles de Chabrières.

Du parking, prendre la piste forestière de Joubelle. Après un lacet à gauche, la poursuivre sur environ 500 m. Prendre alors un sentier qui part à droite et s’élève rapidement dans le bois ; il est balisé d’un point orange et d'un autre bleu. Traverser l’alpage du Serre du mouton (attention le fléchage des panneaux n’est pas toujours bon). Après un replat, le sentier grimpe à nouveau sur une croupe dégagée d’où l’on peu apercevoir le lac de Serre-Ponçon. L’itinéraire suit la crête qui mène au sommet du télésiège de Chabrières et à une table d’orientation. Poursuivre sur le sentier bien visible (désormais balisé uniquement d’un point bleu) qui descend légèrement et se poursuit en balcon pour rejoindre le pied du couloir à remonter jusqu’à la brèche de Chabrières (2280 m). Le sentier se poursuit en traversée ascendante jusqu’à la crête qui surplombe le bassin gapençais. De là, il est possible d’aller en 15 minutes au sommet de Chabrières (itinéraire escarpé et non balisé, déconseillé avec des enfants). Le sentier contourne les oucanes et descend vers le plateau des Rougnous qu’il traverse. Il plonge ensuite en lacets dans un vallon et rejoint un sentier qui vient de la cabane de Font-Renarde, visible en contrebas. Poursuivre sur le sentier en traversée et rejoindre les pistes de ski qui mènent au parking.

Transport

Possibilité de navette de la gare de Chorges à Réallon. Pensez à réserver 36 h à l'avance sur 05voyageurs ou au 04 92 50 25 05.

Accès routier

Multiples accès possibles : depuis Chorges par Saint-Appolinaire (D9), depuis Savines-le-Lac par Chérines (D41) et depuis Embrun par la route des Puys (D9).

Lieux de renseignement

Centre d'information des Gourniers (ouverture estivale)

Les Gourniers
 Réallon
Tél : 04 92 44 30 36
embrunais@ecrins-parcnational.fr

Les Gourniers
05160 Réallon

Site web - Courriel - 04 92 44 30 36

Lat: 44.61608, Lng: 6.33363

Maison du Parc de l'Embrunais

Information, documentation, exposition, projections, produits et ouvrages du Parc. Accessible aux personnes à mobilité réduite. Entrée libre. Toutes les animations du Parc sont gratuites sauf mention contraire.

Place de l’Église
05380 Châteauroux-les-Alpes

Site web - Courriel - 04 92 43 23 31

Lat: 44.61459, Lng: 6.52068

Cliquer pour intéragir

Sur le chemin…
Flore
L'astragale queue de renard

L'astragalus alopecurus (de alopex : renard et oura : queue), espèce spectaculaire par sa taille, présente de longues feuilles aux multiples folioles. Il s'épanouit avec l'arrivée de la chaleur et expose, sur de hautes tiges poilues, ses belles grappes de fleurs. Les nombreuses corolles jaunes sortent la tête au travers d'un pelage dense et protecteur pour profiter du grand soleil et du vent chaud de l'été.

001854_1.jpg
Faune
Chocard à bec jaune

Grand voltigeur et acrobate des cimes, le chocard à bec jaune est également très adroit pour glaner les restes de repas des promeneurs. Il se déplace le plus souvent en nombre et égaie son passage de petits cris flûtés facilement reconnaissables. Cet oiseau noir au bec jaune et aux pattes rouges est aussi bien le compagnon des alpinistes chevronnés que celui des contemplatifs d'un jour.

037872_1.jpg
Géologie
Les oucanes de Chabrières

Curiosité géologique de cette randonnée, les oucanes constituent un paysage tout à fait original pour le massif des Ecrins. Le karst qui les compose est développé dans d’épais calcaires et dolomies appartenant à l’écaille briançonnaise de Chabrières. Sur un espace restreint, ces oucanes donnent la possibilité d’observer les formes caractéristiques d’un karst alpin : lapiés, cannelures méandriformes, petites vasques, couloirs portant des cannelures de mur, exsurgences de Vaucluse.

030021_1.jpg
Faune
Perdrix bartavelle

La bartavelle est un gallinacé, comme le lagopède, plus facilement observable au moment des parades de printemps. Posée sur un promontoire pour chanter de façon saccadée, la perdrix bartavelle est reconnaissable à son dos gris, ses flancs rayés, sa gorge blanche et son bec rouge. Elle vit en montagne sur les versants bien exposés au soleil et affectionne les rochers et les landes ouvertes où les jeunes peuvent se nourrir d’insectes indispensables à leur croissance.

028542_1.jpg
Faune
Chamois

Animal emblématique des Alpes, le chamois a bénéficié de la création du Parc national pour se réinstaller sur l'ensemble du massif des Ecrins. Porteur de cornes noires et crochues, ce proche cousin des lointaines antilopes est doté d'un odorat et d'une ouïe bien développés qui rendent son approche difficile. Chèvres et chevreaux aiment à se regrouper en hardes tandis que les boucs restent isolés jusqu'à la saison du rut qui a lieu en octobre-novembre.

021477_1.jpg
Flore
Pulsatille de montagne

Si toutes les pulsatilles se font remarquer par leur abondante et douce pilosité, elles ont aussi toutes, contrairement aux anémones, la particularité d'arborer à maturité une folle chevelure ébouriffée, composée de nombreuses aigrettes irisées qui s'envoleront au gré des vents. Dans cette confrérie, la pulsatille de montagne est la plus prestigieuse et la plus belle : elle a le privilège de s'exposer au printemps, parmi les herbes jaunies par l'hiver, parée de sa corolle d'un remarquable violet noir.

028713_1.jpg

Profil altimétrique

Altitude (m)

Min : 1554 m - Max : 2349 m

Distance (m)

 

Recommandation

En juin, les névés tardifs peuvent masquer le sentier et le balisage. Un troupeau est présent sur l’alpage et des chiens "patou" en assurent la protection. Evitez de passer dans le troupeau.