Ecrins trekking

Le col de la Coupa

5 h
Duration
Medium
Medium
Return trip
Return trip
8.9 km
Total Length
864 m
Ascent
Uses
  • By walk
Thematic
  • Fauna
  • Flora
  • History and architecture

This valley, which is a mountain pasture for a flock of sheep, leads to La Coupa mountain pass which is the passage between the Réallon valley and the Rouance valley that links up to Ancelle in the Champsaur area.

"The presence of griffon vultures makes this hike interesting during the summer. In the morning, around 9 o'clock, they leave the cliff to the right of the pass, gain altitude and separate. Throughout the day, they glide over the surrounding summits and ridges. The end of the day is a good time to watch them as they return to the 'dormitory'. The best idea is to plan a picnic for the evening and descend before nightfall.

Mireille Coulon, warden in the Embrunais area

From Les Gourniers car park, cross the bridge over the Réallon and take the paved road on the left. Follow this road for 1 km to the end of the tarmac at "Les Tomelles". Take the track to the right. At the next fork in the road, go right on the footpath that heads into the larch forest then reaches the Gorge stream. Cross it 3 times over roughly 500 m to reach the meadows of the south facing slope on the left bank. When you arrive at the terrace, go up the slope to the right. Go past the shepherd's hut. From there, the footpath is not clearly defined but the pass to the north-west certainly is. Head towards it by following the slope that straightens out regularly until you reach the meandering footpath that leads to the pass. The return trip is made by the same route.

Access

From Savines-le-lac, take the D41 to Réallon. Then follow the D241 as far as the hamlet of Gourniers at the bottom of the valley.

Information desks

Information center "les Gourniers" (summer only)

Les Gourniers
05160 Réallon
Tel : 
embrunais@ecrins-parcnational.fr

Les Gourniers
05160 Réallon

Website - Email - 04 92 44 30 36

Lat: 44.61608, Lng: 6.33363

Clic for map interaction

On the way...
Flora
Turk's cap lily

In the undergrowth at the beginning of the route, then in the meadows, it stands out with its long upright flowering stem. It is embellished by three to ten flowers that are a purple-pink and crimson and have long orange stamen.  Admire them without smelling, as they are as beautiful as they are smelly!

Lys martagon dans prairie fleurie
History
Walls and clapiers

On the left bank of the stream, the walls and the piles of cleared stones are a sign that there were once hayfields here. The cut hay was taken down to the village in cloth bags that were carried by donkeys or on sleds when it was not by the men themselves.

Murets et clapiers
Flora
Alpenrose

At the end of June, the slopes on the right bank are covered in a carmine pink colour thanks to the flowers of this shrub. There are usually blueberries, green alder and other small willows nearby. Its stiff leaves are shiny on the upper side but rust-coloured underneath (which is where it gets its French name "ferrugineux" from). It was also nicknamed the Devil's rose because its leaves were said to attract lightning.

Rhododendron ferrugineux
Know-how
Black grouse and management

Every year BTS students in "Nature protection and Management" assist in a clearing operation that frees a part of the slope of its alpenroses that spread too much. The reason is twofold: to gain back grazing land and to improve the habitat of the black grouse.

Parade de tétras lyre
Fauna
 Ortolan bunting

It is present on the sunny slopes and sings ruefully from its perch on the top of a bush. This bird is barely larger than a sparrow. The male has a salmon-coloured chest and a grey-brown rump. Its green-grey head is embellished with a pale yellow moustache that starts at the beak and marks a comma shape down the neck. The female is not as colourful.

Bruant ortolan
Fauna
Common rock thrush

Also called the rock blackbird, it likes the sun, perches on rocks and lets out a melodic tune as it flies. Although it is discreet when it is visible, its orange chest, blue head and white rump make it remarkable. It can be seen from May - the period when it builds a nest on the ground or in a gap in a rock - to the end of August.

Monticole de roche
Fauna
Griffon vulture

A large scavenging bird of prey, that can have a wingspan of 2.50 m, has been present in the massif for about 10 years. Not long after the flocks have arrived on the pastures, the vultures settle in for the duration of the summer pasture. They spend the summer patrolling in search of corpses. In the evening, they return to their 'dormitory' at the top of the rock face to the right of the Coupa pass. Up to sixty have been counted.

Vautour fauve

Altitude profile

Altitude (m)

Min : 1471 m - Max : 2304 m

Distance (m)

 

Advice

The valley is a pasture where there are grazing sheep. Keep dogs on a lead, stay a good distance from the flock and near to the hut, respect the peace and quiet of the shepherd. Do not forget your binoculars to observe the vultures.

Rando Ecrins

Le col de la Coupa

5 h
Durée
Moyen
Moyen
Aller-retour
Aller-retour
8,9 km
Longueur totale
864 m
Dénivelé montant
Usages
  • A pied
Thème
  • Faune
  • Flore
  • Histoire et architecture

Ce vallon où estive un troupeau de brebis conduit au col de la Coupa, passage entre la vallée de Réallon et celle de la Rouane qui rejoint Ancelle dans le Champsaur.

"Durant toute la saison estivale, la présence des vautours fauves rend cette randonnée attractive. Le matin, aux environs de 9 h, ils quittent la falaise à droite du col, prennent de l’altitude et se dispersent. Au cours de la journée, ils planent au-dessus des sommets et crêtes environnants. La fin de journée est un moment favorable pour l’observation lorsqu’ils regagnent le « dortoir ». La bonne idée est de prévoir un pique-nique pour le soir et la descente avant la nuit."

Mireille Coulon, garde-monitrice en Embrunais

Du parking des Gourniers, traverser le pont sur le torrent de Réallon et prendre la route goudronnée à gauche. Suivre cette route sur 1 km jusqu’à la fin du goudron, au lieu-dit « Les Tomelles ». Prendre le chemin à droite. A la bifurcation suivante, suivre à droite le sentier qui s’enfonce dans  le mélézin puis rejoint le torrent de la Gorge. Traverser 3 fois à gué sur environ 500 m et finir à l'adret, en rive gauche, dans les pâturages. Arriver à un replat et monter la pente à droite. Passer devant la cabane du berger. De là, le sentier est peu marqué mais le col est lui très visible au nord-ouest. S'y diriger en suivant la pente qui se redresse régulièrement pour retrouver le sentier en lacets qui conduit au col. Le retour se fait par le même itinéraire.

Accès routier

Depuis Savines-le-lac, prendre la D41 jusqu'à Réallon. Suivre ensuite la D241 jusqu'au hameau des Gourniers au fond de la vallée.

Lieux de renseignement

Centre d'information des Gourniers (ouverture estivale)

Les Gourniers
 Réallon
Tél : 04 92 44 30 36
embrunais@ecrins-parcnational.fr

Les Gourniers
05160 Réallon

Site web - Courriel - 04 92 44 30 36

Lat: 44.61608, Lng: 6.33363

Cliquer pour intéragir

Sur le chemin…
Flore
Lis martagon

Dans le sous-bois au début de l’itinéraire, puis dans les pelouses, il est remarquable par sa longue hampe florale dressée. Elle est agrémentée de trois à dix fleurs d’un rose violacé ponctué de pourpre qui laissent apparaître de longues étamines orangées. Il faut l'admirer sans le respirer car il est aussi beau que malodorant !

Lys martagon dans prairie fleurie
Histoire
Murets et clapiers

En rive gauche du torrent, les murets et clapiers d’épierrement encore visibles témoignent de la présence d’anciens prés de fauche. Le foin coupé était descendu au village dans des trousses de tissus, chargées sur des mulets ou des traineaux quand ce n’était pas à dos d’homme.

Murets et clapiers
Flore
Rhododendron ferrugineux

Fin juin, le versant en rive droite du torrent se couvre du rose carmin des fleurs de cet arbrisseau. Il est souvent escorté de myrtilles, d'aulnes verts et d'autres petits saules. Ses feuilles rigides vert foncé sont luisantes dessus et rouille dessous, d’où son nom. Il était aussi surnommé Rose du diable car l'aspect de ses feuilles était censé attirer la foudre.

Rhododendron ferrugineux
Savoir-faire
Tétras lyre et gestion

Une action de débroussaillage consistant à couper une partie des rhododendrons qui envahissent le versant est menée chaque année avec des étudiants de BTS « Gestion et Protection de la Nature ». Il s’agit à la fois de regagner de la surface pâturable et d’améliorer l’habitat du tétras lyre.

Parade de tétras lyre
Faune
Bruant ortolan

Présent sur le versant ensoleillé, il chante mélancoliquement perché au sommet d’un buisson. Cet oiseau est à peine plus gros qu'un moineau. Le mâle a le ventre couleur saumon et un croupion brun grisâtre. Sa tête gris verdâtre est agrémentée d’une moustache jaune pâle partant du bec et descendant en virgule sur le cou. La femelle en revanche est plus terne.

Bruant ortolan
Faune
Monticole de roche

Aussi appelé merle de roche, il aime le soleil, se perche sur les rochers et  vole en lançant son chant mélodieux. Bien que discret quand il se montre, sa poitrine orange, sa tête bleue et son croupion blanc le rendent remarquable. Il est observable de mai - période à laquelle il construit son nid à même le sol ou dans une anfractuosité de rocher - à fin août.

Monticole de roche
Faune
Vautour fauve

Ce grand rapace charognard de 2,50 m d’envergure fréquente le massif depuis une dizaine d’années. Peu après l’arrivée des troupeaux en alpage les vautours s’installent pour la durée de l’estive. Ils passent l‘été à patrouiller à la recherche de carcasses. Le soir, ils regagnent leur « dortoir » dans le haut de la falaise à droite du col de la Coupa. Il en a été compté jusqu’à une soixantaine. 

Vautour fauve

Profil altimétrique

Altitude (m)

Min : 1471 m - Max : 2304 m

Distance (m)

 

Recommandation

Le vallon est un alpage où pâturent des brebis. Tenir les chiens en laisse, rester à distance du troupeau et respecter la tranquillité du berger à proximité de sa cabane. Penser aux jumelles pour observer les vautours.