Ecrins trekking

Le col de Freissinières

8 h
Duration
Hard
Hard
Return trip
Return trip
20.2 km
Total Length
1470 m
Ascent
Uses
  • By walk
Thematic
  • Fauna
  • Flora
  • Pass

Departure : Cascades Car Park, FressinièresCascades Car Park, Fressinières

A varied route through forest, prairie, moraine and cliffs striped with waterfalls up to 2782m to reach the Fressinières pass, which is also known as the Orcières pass.

"Whilst coming down from the Fressinières pass one July morning, where there were still névés on the the slopes that had the least sun, two animals were running in the snow. Two roe deer at 2500 metres in altitude! What fantastic adaptability! »

Blandine Delenatte and Jean-Philippe Telmon, wardens

From the Cascades Car Park, take the path to the left, where you will find the entrance to the National Park, indicated by three explanatory panels (Leave the bridge that leads to the winter trail to the right). Cross the footbridge over the Oules stream and follow bends in the path along a large waterfall before crossing a zone of scree. As this 'summer' trail crosses an avalanche zone, it is not used in the winter. It has a gentle slope and is wide, enabling the inhabitants of Dormillouse to restock with the help of tracked wheelbarrows.
At the following junction, stay on the track to the right (the one to the left leads to the Fangeas lake and the Terres Blanches pass). Follow the trail towards Dormillouse and before the footbridge, turn left following the signs for lac Faravel, lac Palluel, Fressinières pass.
When you come to the next fork in the road, take the footpath to the right towards the Fressinières pass. When you arrive on the Arduin plateau, carry straight on at the 4 roads crossroads towards the Fressinières pass. The trail enters the forest of larch and follows the right bank of the Biaysse climbing up to the Chichin valley. It crosses the Chichin glacial cross-cliff by means of a small footbridge, reaches the pastoral hut, continues along the edge of the Lauzeron lake then weaves in and out of the moraines until it reaches the pass.
The return trip is made by the same route. It is also possible to reach Prapic and return via the Terres Blanches over 2 days.

Transport

Nearest SNCF train station: l'Argentière les Ecrins - www.voyages-sncf.com then taxi. (Taxi Pellegrin 06 98 88 17 78 / Taxi Billau 06 08 03 45 90)

Access

From the main RN94 road north of la Roche de Rame, head towards Fressinières on the D38 then D38B roads. Go through Fressinières and follow the D238 road, which heads right up to the Cascades Car Park on the valley floor. This is the end of the road in the bottom of the Fressinières valley. In the snowy season, the road is closed.

This trek is within park center, please read access rules.

Clic for map interaction

On the way...
Water
Dormillouse waterfall

The Biaysse valley from Fressinières to the Chichin valley has around 30 waterfalls. It is moreover a prime venue for ice climbing on falls in the winter. The impressive Dormillouse waterfall is part of this local heritage.

026205
History
The origins of Dormillouse

Some think that Dormillouse is the land of marmots (Durmilhousa in Occitan) but the name might also be the result of two of pre-indo-european words being used together: tor and mel that both mean mountain. What is certain is that in the 6th Century, the Lombards invaded Europe. Following a bloody battle at Mont-Dauphin, surviving soldiers took refuge in the Fressinières valley where they founded the village, which was then named "Dormil".

007746
Architecture
The water mill

The mill is located at Enflous. It used to be used to grind the rye that was grown on the lower land of village.

004654
History
Public buildings at the heart of the hamlets

Uniquely, Dormillouse village consists of several quartiers or hamlets, each of these surrounds a public building: the mill at Enflous, at the bottom of the village the temple, the school and the Escleyers fountain ; the oven at Romans, at the top of the village. The stone and wooden dwellings are characteristic of alpine architecture in an isolated site.

021973
Fauna
Marsh tit

This discreet tit is often confused with the mountain wollow tit. Distinguishing them is not easy. The bib of the marsh tit is smaller than that of the wollow tit; its wings are solid brown whereas they are slightly lighter for the wollow tit. Its crown is shinier. It is sedentary and visits the cooler deciduous forests, groves and garden providing there are trees with holes for nesting. It rarely goes higher than the mountain stage except for the most exposed sectors. With the arrival of spring, it does not come out of the old ash tree much. The best idea is to listen: the song and the call of the tit are very loud and tonic. Even then, it is not easy as it changes the song as if teasing the amateur ornithologist.

022264
Fauna
Black Grouse

You will need to get up early if you want to see the Black Grouse in the summer. In France, the Black Grouse, or capercaillie as it is also known, can only be found in the Alps. The emblematic Black Grouse completes its biological cycle at the upper limit of the larch forest with springtime parades where the males coo and tackle each other, summer nesting supervised by the females and a winter lodging dug out of the snow. In winter, the Black Grouse is particularly sensitive to disturbance, such as an off-piste skier or snow-shoer passing by, as it cannot compensate for the energy lost should it need to flee its igloo in a hurry.

021097
Fauna
Alpine Accentor

An inveterate mountain-dweller, the alpine accentor is a sturdy passerine bird with a plump belly. A few black lines appear in its ashy feathers. It is characterised by the ginger flames on its sides. Found typically in the alpine prairies, it scampers across the short grass and crows on the bare stone. It comes to peck at the crumbs around the mountain refuge. When winter comes, it migrates towards the valleys. Its migration can even lead it as far as the rocks on the coast. When the snow melts, it is a formidable predator of small invertebrates numbed by the cold along the névé. It also gleans seeds, berries and small plants, explores the ledges, rummages in the cavities, and totters about, unsuspicious of its archenemy the hawk.

025333
Fauna
Chamois

Emblematic animal of the Alps, the chamois, or "rock goat" have short black hooked horns. As with the ibex, they are easier to observe using binoculars. The females and the "éterlou" (young male under one year old) like to stay in a large herd whereas the males are more solitary and join the females for the mating season. In winter, the chamois hope for calm as they need to keep their reserves of fat to survive.

2012-07-04_chamois Sélé _TEJ_04
Flora
Alpine Columbine

In the undergrowth of the larch forest, beside the footpath that follows up the Biaysse, large blue flowers catch the eye. The Alpine Columbine is an infrequent species. Its splendour is equalled only by its rarity. It has few sky-blue flowers, which make it easy to distinguish from the garden columbine that has smaller, more numerous purple-blue flowers. Columbine flowers are the only ones to have five spurs, the ends of the five petals are like a cornet guarded by five sepals shaped like a lance.

056032
Fauna
The alpine ibex

In 1995, several ibex were introduced into the Champsaur. Since then, their population has steadily progressed to the valleys of the massif. The females regularly give birth in the bars dominating the sunny side of the Prés Baridons, and the males come from the Champsaur to visit them via the Fressinières pass. Their coat mingles with the colour of the cliffs on which they tend to perch, which make them difficult to see without the help of binoculars or a telescope.

055919
Flora
Turk's cap lily

More common than the alpine columbine, the Turk's cap lily's purple punctuated pink flowers blossom in the same undergrowth. When they are fully grown, the flowers bow to the ground with their six petals curving upwards, revealing six orange stamen. They will straighten with the growth of the fruit, an oblong capsule that opens lengthwise by three tears.

039828
Flora
Yellow gentian

Well-known for the invigorating, digestive, depurative properties of its roots, the yellow gentian is easy to recognise due to its opposite leaves that form a cup in which snuggle the fine yellow flowers. On the other hand, the white hellebore, that looks similar, has leaves that spiral up the length of the stem and never form a cup. Tradition claims that the height of the yellow gentian is a forecast of the depth of the snow the following winter.

056031
Fauna
Common frog

This is the most common frog in the Alps. It is sturdy, round-faced with a lovely temporal, chocolate-coloured mask that highlights its golden eyes. It is the only frog to occupy the wetlands above 1000 metres in altitude. The shallow, Lauzeron lake, is home to adults and tadpoles. The speed of their growth is determined by the altitude and climatic conditions. Here, conditions are harsh and they spend a year in water before they become young frogs, whereas 3 to 4 months are sufficient for this metamorphosis in the plains once the summer arrives.

010398
Fauna
Large marsh grasshopper

In the wetlands that boarder the trail, little 'clicks' give this large “blood” grasshopper (criquet ensanglanté in French) away. Blood? Do not panic, like all grasshoppers, it is a vegetarian. This term simply describes the purple patches on the olive green and black body of the female. They only lay their eggs in waterlogged ground, as their eggs are very sensitive to dryness. This grasshopper, whose population is regressing in Europe, is therefore a good indicator of the quality and purity of the wetlands.

015068
Fauna
Marmot

Close to a footpath, they will sometimes pose nonchalantly for a photo. The marmot's main strategy in face with of its predators (golden eagle, fox) is to take refuge in its burrow. They live in families made up of a couple of dominant adults and subordinates from successive litters. Grooming, games and fights ensure the cohesion of the group and the respect for the hierarchy. All participate in the delimitation of the territory by urinated or defecating at the boundaries or by rubbing their cheeks against the rocks in order to leave their scent.

056039
Flora
Mountain houseleek

Houseleeks are stary flowers that open up above a miniature artichoke gripping onto a rock. To distinguish them from one another, look at the colours: brght pink for the cobweb houseleek whose artichoke is striped with white threads, dull pink for the common houseleek with its long, thick stem and antique pink for the mountain houseleek that is entirely covered with fluff made up of short, glandular hairs that smell like resin.

056026
Fauna
Snowfinch

Just below the Fressinières pass, a group of quick-flying squawking birds come close to the footpath. Light coloured feathers, white, black-tipped wings, white tail with a black line in the middle. There is no doubt. It is a snowfinch. All year round, they stay at a high altitude, fearless of the cold! In winter, they spot the summits where the snow has been blown away and the bare vertical rock faces. If there is a heavy snowfall, they will head down the valley looking for seeds and berries.

026681
Flora
Glacier buttercup

This small plant is in competition with lichens as it holds the record for highest altitude for a flowering plant in Europe! How has it adapted? It has a dwarf habit, the calyx and corolla remain after blossoming in order to protect the seeds, it has few fleshy leaves that can stand freezing and a capacity not to blossom the years where there is heavy or long-lasting snow.

025570
Flora
Round-leaved penny cress

The round-leaved penny cress has chosen to settle in the scree below the Fresssinières pass, and uses its numerous shoots to survive in such an unstable and inhospitable environment. The attractive flowers that grow in balls brighten up the stone with a touch of lilac-pink. At the base, small, fleshy almost round leaves form rosettes.

056020

Altitude profile

Altitude (m)

Min : 1437 m - Max : 2769 m

Distance (m)

 

Advice

No camping in the Cascades Car Park (including inside a vehicule), bivouac permitted at least an hour's walk away from the park boundaries.
No campfires in the heart of the Park.

See also

Markings
  • Marks PR PR

Rando Ecrins

Le col de Freissinières

8 h
Durée
Difficile
Difficile
Aller-retour
Aller-retour
20,2 km
Longueur totale
1470 m
Dénivelé montant
Usages
  • A pied
Thème
  • Col
  • Faune
  • Flore

Départ : Parking des Cascades, Freissinières

Un parcours varié entre forêts, alpages, moraines et falaises zébrées de cascades pour rejoindre le col de Freissinières aussi appelé col d'Orcières, à 2782 m.

« En descendant du col de Freissinières un matin de juillet, alors que les névés recouvraient encore les versants les moins ensoleillés, voilà que couraient deux animaux dans la neige. Deux chevreuils à 2500 mètres d'altitude ! Quelle capacité d'adaptation ! »
Blandine Delenatte et Jean-Philippe Telmon, gardes-moniteurs

Du parking des Cascades, prendre le sentier de gauche où se trouve la porte d'entrée du Parc national, ensemble de trois panneaux explicatifs (laisser sur la droite la passerelle qui mène au sentier d'hiver). Passer le pont au-dessus du torrent des Oules et continuer le sentier en lacets qui longe une grande cascade puis traverse une zone d'éboulis. Ce sentier “d'été” est situé sur une zone d'avalanche et n'est pas emprunté en hiver. Il est large et taillé en douceur, permettant aux habitants de Dormillouse de se ravitailler à l'aide de brouettes à chenilles.
Au croisement suivant, laisser le sentier à gauche (lac du Fangeas, col des Terres Blanches) et garder celui de droite. Continuer le chemin qui mène au village de Dormillouse et avant le pont, prendre à gauche en suivant le panneau lac Faravel, lac Palluel, col de Freissinières.
A la bifurcation suivante, prendre le sentier qui monte à droite vers le col de Freissinières. Arrivé sur le plateau de l'Arduin, aller tout droit au croisement des 4 chemins vers le col de Freissinières.  Le sentier entre dans la forêt de mélèzes et suit la Biaysse en rive droite pour monter dans le vallon de Chichin. Il passe le verrou de Chichin sur une petite passerelle, atteint la cabane pastorale de Chichin, longe le petit lac du Lauzeron puis se faufile entre les moraines pour arriver jusqu'au col.
Le retour se fait par le même chemin. Il est aussi possible de rejoindre Prapic puis de revenir par le col des Terres Blanches en 2 jours.

Transport

Gare SNCF la plus proche : l'Argentière les Ecrins - www.voyages-sncf.com puis taxi. (Taxi Pellegrin 06 98 88 17 78 / Taxi Billau 06 08 03 45 90)

Accès routier

De la RN 94, au nord de la Roche de Rame suivre la direction Freissinières par la D38 puis la D38B  jusqu'à Freissinières. Traverser Freissinières puis suivre la D238 qui part à droite jusqu'au parking des cascades, au fond de la vallée. Terminus de la route, au fond de la vallée de Freissinières en dehors de la période de neige où la route est fermée.

Cet itinéraire est dans le coeur du parc national, veuillez consulter la réglementation.

Cliquer pour intéragir

Sur le chemin…
Eau
Cascade de Dormillouse

La vallée de la Biaysse, de Freissinières au vallon de Chichin compte une trentaine de cascades. D'ailleurs, c'est un haut lieu de l'escalade glaciaire des cascades en hiver. L'impressionante cascade de Dormillouse fait partie de ce patrimoine local.

026205
Architecture
Moulin à eau

Ce moulin est situé aux Enflous. Autrefois, il servait à moudre le seigle cultivé dans les basses terres du village.

004654
Histoire
Des édifices publics au cœur des hameaux

Unique en son genre, le village de Dormillouse s'étage en plusieurs quartiers ou hameaux, chacun autour d'un équipement public : le moulin aux Enflous, en bas du village ; le temple, l'école et la fontaine aux Escleyers ; le four aux Romans, en haut du village. Les habitations de pierres et de bois sont caractéristiques de l'architecture de montagne sur un site isolé.

021973
Faune
Mésange nonnette

Cette mésange discrète est souvent confondue avec la mésange boréale, plus montagnarde. L’identification de visu est délicate : la bavette de la mésange nonnette est plus réduite que celle de la mésange boréale, les ailes sont brun uni alors qu’elles présentent une plage légèrement plus claire chez la boréale. La calotte est plus brillante. Sédentaire, elle fréquente les forêts de feuillus plutôt fraîches, les bosquets ou les jardins, pourvu qu’il y ait de vieux arbres à cavités pour nicher. Elle ne dépasse guère l’étage montagnard hormis dans les secteurs les mieux exposés. Le printemps venu, elle se laisse peu apercevoir dans le vieux frêne. Le plus sûr est de l’écouter : cris et chants de la nonnette sont très sonores, toniques. Mais là encore, elle ne fait pas dans la simplicité, diversifiant ses chants comme pour mieux tromper l’ornithologue amateur.

022264
Faune
Tétras-lyre

Pour observer le tétras-lyre en été, il faut se lever de très bonne heure. En France, le tétras-lyre ou coq des bruyères ne se rencontre que dans les Alpes. C'est à la limite supérieure du mélézin que l'emblématique tétras lyre effectue l'ensemble de son cycle biologique : parades printanières où les coqs roucoulent et s'affrontent, nichées estivales surveillées par les poules et hivernage dans une loge creusée dans la neige. En hiver, le tétras-lyre est particulièrement sensible au dérangement, car il ne peut pas compenser l'énergie dépensée lorsqu'il quitte précipitamment son igloo au passage d'un skieur hors piste ou d'un randonneur en raquettes.

021097
Faune
Accenteur alpin

Montagnard endurci, l’accenteur alpin est un passereau robuste au ventre dodu. Sur le dessus, quelques traits noirs rayent son plumage cendré. Des flammes rousses griffent ses flancs de manière caractéristique. Habitant typique des prairies alpines, il trottine sur le gazon ras et pavoise sur la pierre nue. Il vient picorer les miettes autour du refuge. L’hiver venu, il migre vers les vallées. Sa transhumance peut même le conduire jusqu’aux rochers du littoral. À la fonte des neiges, le long des névés, il est le prédateur redoutable des petits invertébrés engourdis par le froid. Il glane aussi graines, baies et petits végétaux, explore les ressauts, fourrage les anfractuosités, tourne et vire sans se méfier de son ennemi juré, l’épervier.

025333
Faune
Chamois

Animal emblématique des Alpes, le chamois ou « chèvre des rochers » porte de courtes cornes noires et crochues. Comme le bouquetin, il est plus facilement observable avec des jumelles. Les chèvres et éterlou (jeune mâle d'un an) aiment à constituer de grandes hardes ; a contrario, les boucs restent plutôt isolés pour ne rejoindre les femelles qu’à la saison des amours. L’hiver, les chamois aspirent à beaucoup de tranquillité car ils vont survivre en économisant leurs réserves de graisse.

2012-07-04_chamois Sélé _TEJ_04
Flore
L'ancolie des Alpes

Dans les sous-bois de mélèze, au bord du sentier qui remonte la Biaysse, de grandes fleurs d'azur attirent le regard. L'ancolie des Alpes est une espèce peu fréquente dont l'éclat n'a d'égal que sa rareté. Sa couleur bleue ciel et ses fleurs peu nombreuses permettent de la différencier de l'ancolie vulgaire aux fleurs plus petites, plus nombreuses, d'un bleu violet. Les fleurs d'ancolie sont les seules à posséder cinq éperons, extrémités de cinq pétales en cornet, gardés par cinq sépales en forme de lance.

056032
Faune
Le bouquetin des Alpes

En 1995, quelques bouquetins ont été introduits dans le Champsaur. Depuis, la population s'étoffe lentement et peuple progressivement les vallées du massif. Des femelles viennent régulièrement mettre bas dans les barres qui dominent les Prés Baridons, côté soleil et des mâles viennent leur rendre visite depuis le Champsaur, par le col de Freissinières. Alors leur pelage se confond avec la couleur des falaises ou ils ont coutume de se percher, les rendant difficilement visibles sans jumelles ou longue vue.

055919
Flore
Le lis martagon

Plus commun que l'ancolie des Alpes, le lis martagon ouvre ses fleurs roses ponctuées de pourpre dans les mêmes sous-bois. A maturité, ces fleurs sont penchées vers le sol, leurs six pétales recourbés vers le haut, laissant apparaître les six étamines orangées. Elles se redresseront à la formation du fruit, une capsule oblongue s'ouvrant par trois déchirures longitudinales.

039828
Flore
La gentiane jaune

Très connue pour les propriétés toniques, digestives et dépuratives de ses racines, la gentiane jaune se reconnaît à ses feuilles opposées, formant une coupe dans laquelle se lovent les fines fleurs jaunes. A l'inverse, chez le vératre blanc qui lui ressemble, les feuilles sont insérées en spirale le long de la tige, ne formant jamais de coupe. La tradition veut que la hauteur des gentiane jaunes indique la hauteur de neige du prochain hiver...

056031
Faune
La grenouille rousse

C'est la grenouille la plus commune des Alpes. Robuste, museau arrondi et beau masque temporal chocolat qui met en valeur ses yeux d'or, elle seule occupe les zones humides au-delà de 1000 mètres d'altitude. Peu profond, le lac du Lauzeron, abrite adultes et têtards. Leur vitesse de croissance dépend de l'altitude et des conditions climatiques.  Ici, les conditions sont rudes et ils passent une année dans l'eau avant de devenir de jeunes grenouilles alors que 3 à 4 mois suffisent à leur métamorphose en plaine lorsque s'installe la belle saison.

010398
Faune
Le criquet ensanglanté

Dans les zones humides qui bordent le chemin, de petits « clics » trahissent la présence de ce criquet de grande taille. Ensanglanté ? Pas de panique, comme tous les criquets, il est végétarien. Ce terme décrit  simplement les taches pourpres de la robe vert olive et noir de la femelle. Celle-ci pond uniquement dans un sol gorgé d'eau car ses œufs sont très sensibles à la sécheresse. Ainsi, ce criquet dont les populations régressent en Europe, est un bon indicateur de la qualité et de l'intégrité des zones humides.

015068
Faune
La marmotte

Au détour du sentier, elle pose parfois nonchalamment sur un rocher pour la photo. Sa principale stratégie face aux prédateurs (aigle royal, renard, …) consiste à se réfugier dans son terrier. Elle vit en famille, composée d'un couple d'adultes dominants et de subordonnées issus de portées successives. Toilettage, jeux ou bagarres assurent la cohésion du groupe et le respect de la hiérarchie. Chacun participe à la délimitation du territoire en déposant crotte ou urine aux frontières et en frottant les joues contre les rochers pour y laisser son odeur.

056039
Flore
La joubarbe des montagnes

Les joubarbes sont ces fleurs roses étoilées qui s'ouvrent au-dessus d'un artichaut miniature agrippé à un rocher. Pour les distinguer les unes des autres, il faut regarder leur couleur : rose vif pour la joubarbe à toile d'araignée dont l'artichaut est zébré de fils blancs, rose terne pour la joubarbe des toits aux tiges hautes et épaisses,vieux rose pour la joubarbe des montagnes entièrement recouverte d'un duvet de poils courts et glanduleux à odeur de résine.

056026
Faune
La niverolle alpine

Juste sous le col de Freissinières, un groupe d'oiseaux au vol rapide passe à proximité du sentier en poussant des cris. Plumage clair, ailes blanches à l'extrémité noire, queue blanche barrée d'un trait noir médian : pas de doute, ce sont des niverolles alpines. Toute l'année en haute montagne, le froid ne leur fait pas peur ! En hiver, elles repèrent les crêtes où la neige a été soufflée et les parois verticales dénudées. Si une grosse chute de neige arrive, elles descendent dans la vallée pour trouver quelques baies et graines.

026681
Flore
La renoncule des glaciers

Cette petite plante rivalise avec les lichens : c'est la plante à fleurs qui détient le record d'altitude en Europe ! Ses adaptations : un port nain, des calices et corolles qui subsistent après la floraison pour protéger les graines, des feuilles charnues et peu nombreuses qui supportent le gel et une capacité à faire l'économie d'une floraison les années où l'enneigement est trop abondant ou trop tardif.

025570
Flore
Le tabouret à feuilles rondes

C'est dans les éboulis instables sous le col de Freissinières que le tabouret à feuilles rondes a choisi de s'installer, utilisant ses nombreux rejets rampants pour survivre dans ce milieu mouvant et peu hospitalier. Ses jolies fleurs regroupées en boules égayent le gris des pierres d'une touche rose lilas. A leurs pieds, de petites feuilles charnues, entières et presque rondes formes des rosettes.

056020

Profil altimétrique

Altitude (m)

Min : 1437 m - Max : 2769 m

Distance (m)

 

Recommandation

Camping interdit sur le parking des cascades (même dans un véhicule), bivouac autorisé à plus d’une heure de marche des limites du parc.
Les feux sont également interdits dans le cœur du Parc.

Plus d'informations

Balisage
  • Marks PR PR