Ecrins trekking

La Tête de Vautisse

4 h 30
Duration
Medium
Medium
Return trip
Return trip
11.5 km
Total Length
829 m
Ascent
Uses
  • By walk
Thematic
  • Fauna
  • Flora

Departure : L'Alp mountain hut, Réotier

A hike to discover the nival stage (above 3000 metres) with relatively easy access conditions.

"At the foot of the Tête de Vautisse, the stunted vegetation gives way to an almost solely mineral environment. The rock ptarmigan, emblematic species of the high summits lives in such seemingly inhospitable conditions. Groups of several heads are seen on a regular basis.”

 Damien Combrisson, warden in the Embrunais area

From the car park, take the footpath on the left of the flat terrain, which leads here and there along the Alp stream with a regular and moderate incline. About 40 minutes further on, the path forks to the left and continues along the Prénetz ridge through black soil. Off a bend, the footpath leads to a terrace (the Selle valley) revealing three small mountain lakes that dry out some years. With the lakes to the right, the footpath continues a slight descent, the lowest point of which is the Rougnoux pass. The climb towards the summit starts properly from this pass. Numerous bends mean a relatively steep walk where the incline is generally between 30 and 35°. Shortly before the summit, a terrace will enable you to catch your breath. The return trip will be by the same path. A small circuit is also possible from the summit. Leaving the path by which you came on the right, take the stretch of path to the left as far as the Rougnoux pass.

Transport

Consider car sharing.  

Access

From Montdauphin, take the D37, then the D38 to Réotier. From there, follow the D638 until you reach the hamlet of Les Bruns and take the hairpin to the right towards Mikéou. From Mikéou, follow the track for 2.5 km to the hamlet of Les Eymars and continue towards the Selle mountain hut. You will reach the Alp hut after 9.5 km of winding forestry trails.

Information desks

Maison du Parc de l'Embrunais

Information, documentation, exhibition, screenings, products and books of the Park. Accessible to people with reduced mobility. Free admission. All animations of the Park are free unless otherwise stated.

Place de l’Église
05380 Châteauroux-les-Alpes

Website - Email - 04 92 43 23 31

Lat: 44.61459, Lng: 6.52068

Clic for map interaction

On the way...
Fauna
Marmot

The high-pitched cry of the marmot resounds in the pastures. It is a cry to warn of danger. Often, human presence is enough to set of this warning, but it may also be to warn of their ever-present predator, the golden eagle. Look up, the king of eagles is perhaps just above your head!

000488_1.jpg
Flora
Butterwort

It pale green, almost yellow leaves are what helps to recognise the butterwort on the waterlogged soil. The sticky surface of its leaves is a real trap for any gnat that ventures there. To compensate for the lack of nitrogen in the damp soils that it prefers, the plant is carnivorous. The edges of streams and springs are heaven for this otherwise discreet plant.

001744_1.jpg
Flora
Alpine forget-me-not

Once it has blossomed, the alpine forget-me-not awaits the snow in small loose tufts among the lawns and rock falls. So as not to suffer frost damage, this small boraginaceae needs its white coat for the winter. Protected in this way, the small blue corolla with a yellow centre will blossom not long after the snow has melted.

032530_1.jpg
Fauna
Common rock thrush

Also known as the rock blackbird, the thrush is at home in the alpine meadows that are scattered with rocks, as long as they are in the sun. The male has a particularly colourful plumage with a blue head, an orange belly, and a brown back with a white spot that is visible when it is in flight.

022030_1.jpg
Fauna
Rock ptarmigan

Emblematic species of the high mountain, the rock ptarmigan likes the summits and the bare ridges where it finds its food among the sparse vegetation. Partly vegetated rock falls are equally attractive to this discreet bird. The summer plumage of the rock ptarmigan, which varies from grey for the males to brown for the females (also known as hens), means it is well camouflaged in this habitat. In the winter, the rock-coloured bird will moult and its plumage will become entirely white.

032358_1.jpg
Fauna
Chamois

Present, yet hard to spot, the chamois takes refuge at high altitude during the summer to escape the hot temperatures. The females and the "éterlou" (young male under a year old) like to stay in a large herd whereas the males are more solitary and only join the females for the mating season. It is possible to see them in the Couleau valley that overlooks the Rougnoux pass.

028186_1.jpg
Fauna
Griffon vulture

The griffon is a newcomer to the Ecrins massifs and is a genuine rubbish collector for the mountains. The corpses of dead animals are swiftly consumed avoiding pollution of the soil or water. This gravedigger reputation means it long caused disgust and fear among humans. It disappeared in the 19th century, and is now present due to reintroduction programmes, dating back to 1980, performed in the Causses and more recently in the Préalpes.

031471_1.jpg
Panorama
Panorama from La Tête de Vautisse

There is a beautiful panorama from the Vautise summit. The Barre des Ecrins can be seen, and in good visibility even the Mont Viso and Mont Blanc.

034257_1.jpg

Altitude profile

Altitude (m)

Min : 2383 m - Max : 3110 m

Distance (m)

 

Advice

The major part of the footpath covers alpine lawns that are grazed by a flock of around 1500 sheep during the mountain pasture period. It is important to respect the shepherd's work, not to scare the animals (in particular the dogs) or separate the flock (by walking though it).

See also

Markings
  • Marks PR PR

Rando Ecrins

La Tête de Vautisse

4 h 30
Durée
Moyen
Moyen
Aller-retour
Aller-retour
11,5 km
Longueur totale
829 m
Dénivelé montant
Usages
  • A pied
Thème
  • Faune
  • Flore

Une randonnée à la découverte de l'étage nival (au dessus de 3000 mètres) avec des conditions d'approche relativement accessibles.

« Au pied de la tête de Vautisse, la végétation rabougrie laisse place à un univers quasiment minéral. Dans ce milieu apparemment hostile évolue le lagopède alpin, espèce montagnarde emblématique des hauts sommets. Des groupes de plusieurs dizaines d'individus sont encore régulièrement observés. » 

Damien Combrisson, garde-moniteur en Embrunais

Du parking, prendre le sentier qui est sur la gauche du replat ; celui-ci chemine de part et d'autre du torrent de l'Alp en dénivelant de façon régulière et modérée. Au bout de 40 minutes environ, le sentier bifurque vers la gauche en longeant la crête des Prénetz et évolue au milieux des terres noires. Au détour d'un lacet, le sentier débouche sur un replat (le vallon de la Selle) laissant découvrir trois petits lacs de montagne qui s'assèchent selon les années. Délaissant les lacs sur la droite, le sentier se poursuit sur une légère descente dont le point le plus bas indique le col de Rougnoux. L'ascension vers le sommet débute réellement à partir de ce col. De nombreux virages permettent d'entreprendre la montée dans une pente relativement forte dont l'inclinaison oscille généralement entre 30 et 35°. Peu avant le sommet, un replat permet de reprendre son souffle. La descente se fait par le même chemin. Une petite boucle est également possible depuis le sommet : il faut délaisser le chemin de montée sur la droite et prendre la portion de sentier qui est du côté opposé sur la gauche jusqu'au col des Rougnoux.

Transport

Pensez au covoiturage !

Accès routier

A Mont-Dauphin, prendre la D37, puis la D38 en direction de Réotier. De là, suivre la D638 jusqu'au hameau "les Bruns" et prendre l'épingle à droite vers "Mikéou". De Mikéou, suivre la piste sur 2,5 km jusqu'au hameau "les Eymars" et poursuivre vers la cabane de la Selle. Rejoindre la cabane de l'Alp au terme de 9,5 km de piste forestière en lacets.

Lieux de renseignement

Maison du Parc de l'Embrunais

Information, documentation, exposition, projections, produits et ouvrages du Parc. Accessible aux personnes à mobilité réduite. Entrée libre. Toutes les animations du Parc sont gratuites sauf mention contraire.

Place de l’Église
05380 Châteauroux-les-Alpes

Site web - Courriel - 04 92 43 23 31

Lat: 44.61459, Lng: 6.52068

Cliquer pour intéragir

Sur le chemin…
Faune
Marmotte

Le cri strident de la marmotte retentit dans tout l'alpage. Il s'agit d'un signal d'alarme permettant d'indiquer un danger. Bien souvent, la présence de l'homme suffit à déclencher l'alarme, mais elle peut aussi indiquer la présence de l'éternel prédateur, l'aigle royal. Levez les yeux, le roi des aigles est peut-être au-dessus de votre tête !

000488_1.jpg
Flore
Grassette commune

Ce sont ses feuilles d'un vert clair presque jaune qui permettent de la repérer sur le sol détrempé. Le dessus de ces feuilles, gluant, est un vrai piège pour les moucherons qui s'y aventurent. La plante est carnivore pour combler le manque d'azote des terrains humides qu'elle apprécie. En effet, les bords des ruisselets et les sources sont autant de paradis pour cette plante plutôt discrète.

001744_1.jpg
Flore
Myosotis des Alpes

Dans les pelouses ou les éboulis, en petites touffes lâches, après les beaux jours et la floraison, le myosotis alpestre attend la neige. Craignant le gel, cette petite borraginacée a besoin du manteau blanc de l'hiver. Ainsi protégée, les petites corolles bleu azur aux gorges jaunes peuvent fleurir peu après la fonte des neiges.

032530_1.jpg
Faune
Monticole de roche

Aussi dénommé merle de roche, le monticole est l'hôte des pelouses alpines parsemées de blocs rocheux lorsque celles ci sont bien exposées au soleil. Le mâle aborde un plumage particulièrement chatoyant avec la tête bleue, le ventre orangé et le dos brun sur lequel apparaît une tache blanche très visible lorsque l'oiseau est en vol.

022030_1.jpg
Faune
Lagopède alpin

Espèce emblématique de la haute montagne, le lagopède alpin apprécie les sommets et les crêtes dénudés sur lesquels il trouve sa nourriture parmi la végétation clairsemée. Partiellement végétalisés, les pierriers sont tout autant attractifs pour notre oiseau aux mœurs discrètes. Le plumage d'été du lagopède alpin, qui varie du gris pour les mâles au marron pour les femelles (que l'on nomme aussi les poules), lui offre un précieux camouflage avec le milieu dans lequel il vit. L'hiver venu, l'oiseau couleur de pierre effectuera une mue complète et son plumage sera alors totalement blanc.

032358_1.jpg
Faune
Chamois

Omniprésents et pourtant difficiles à observer, les chamois se réfugient en altitude durant l'été afin de lutter contre les grosses chaleurs. Les chèvres et éterlous (jeunes mâles d'un an) aiment à constituer de grandes hardes ; a contrario, les boucs restent plutôt isolés pour ne rejoindre les femelles qu’à la saison des amours. Les  animaux s'observent régulièrement dans le vallon du Couleau que domine le col de Rougnoux.

028186_1.jpg
Faune
Vautour fauve

D'apparition récente dans le  massif des Ecrins, le vautour fauve est le véritable éboueur de la montagne. Les cadavres d'animaux sauvages et domestiques sont rapidement consommés, évitant ainsi la pollution des sols et des eaux. Ce rôle de fossoyeur a longtemps provoqué chez les hommes dégoût et peur. Disparu du massif des Ecrins aux XIXe siècle, il est de nouveau présent suite aux programmes de réintroduction conduits depuis 1980 dans les Causses et plus récemment dans les Préalpes.

031471_1.jpg
Point de vue
Panorama de la Tête de Vautisse

Un beau panorama s'offre au randonneur depuis le sommet de Vautisse. Il peut y observer la Barre des Ecrins et, suivant la visibilité, le Mont Viso et le Mont blanc.

034257_1.jpg

Profil altimétrique

Altitude (m)

Min : 2383 m - Max : 3110 m

Distance (m)

 

Recommandation

La plus grande partie du sentier évolue sur les pelouses alpines qui sont pâturées durant l'estive par un troupeau de près de 1500 brebis. Il est important de respecter le travail du berger, de ne pas effrayer les animaux (notamment avec des chiens) et de ne pas séparer (traverser) le troupeau.

Plus d'informations

Balisage
  • Marks PR PR